Passport Agencies and Centers Enter Phase Two

The Department of State is pleased to announce 6 passport agencies and centers are in Phase 2 of our planned three-phase resumption of operations as of July 27, 2020:

Entered Phase Two on Monday, July 27

Washington Passport Agency

Entered Phase Two on Monday, July 13

Vermont Passport Agency

Entered Phase Two on Monday, July 6

Boston Passport Agency

Buffalo Passport Agency

Connecticut Passport Agency

New York Passport Agency

Most staff will return to our agencies and centers, and we will be able to resume processing more of the applications we already received. Applications will be processed on a first in, first out basis, beginning with the oldest applications received. Our returned staff will continue to prioritize life-or-death emergency cases by appointment at our agencies and centers. Services offered at our agencies will continue to be by appointment only.

Staff and customers should wear cloth face coverings in all common areas, including our lobbies, and continue to observe social distancing. During phase two, we will continue to recommend customers wait to submit new or renewal applications as delays will continue.

For more information on our current operating status and our plans to resume operations at our passport agencies and centers, please go to our COVID-19 Update page.