Passport Agencies and Centers Enter Phase One

The Department of State is pleased to announce 16 passport agencies and centers are in Phase 1 of our planned three-phase resumption of operations as of July 1, 2020:

Entered Phase One on Wednesday, July 1

San Juan Passport Agency

Entered Phase One on Friday, June 19

Vermont Passport Agency

Entered Phase One on Monday, June 15

Boston Passport Agency

Honolulu Passport Agency

Washington Passport Agency

Entered Phase One on Thursday, June 11

Arkansas Passport Center

Buffalo Passport Agency

Chicago Passport Agency

Colorado Passport Agency

Connecticut Passport Agency

Detroit Passport Agency

Minneapolis Passport Agency

National Passport Center

New Orleans Passport Center

New York Passport Agency

Philadelphia Passport Agency

During Phase 1, limited staff are returning to work at these agencies and centers, allowing us to resume limited processing of applications we have already received. Applications will be processed on a first in, first out basis. We will continue to prioritize services for customers with life-or-death emergencies.

Customers who seek to apply at one of our agencies or centers must have an appointment due to a life-or-death emergency requiring international travel within 72 hours. Customers with appointments must wear cloth face coverings in all common areas, including our lobbies, and observe strict social distancing. 

Customers may still apply at an acceptance facility or renew by mail, but should expect significant delays in receiving their passports and important documents. Contact your local acceptance facility to confirm if it is open or closed. During Phase 1, we will continue to recommend customers wait to submit new or renewal applications as delays will continue.

For more information on our current operating status and our plans to resume operations at our passport agencies and centers, please go to our COVID-19 Update page.