Skip Navigation

Tourism & Visit

Foreign travelers to the United States for short visits, for example tourism, vacation, visiting family and friends, or medical treatment, need visitor visas unless they qualify for entry under the Visa Waiver Program.

Need Help Getting Started?

For visits such as tourism, seeing family and friends, or medical treatment.


Most citizens of participating countries* may travel to the United States for short visits without a visa through the Visa Waiver Program.

Participating Countries*

A Flag of Andorra Andorra Flag of Australia Australia Flag of Austria Austria

B Flag of Belgium Belgium Flag of Brunei Brunei

C Flag of Chile Chile Flag of Czech Republic Czech Republic

D Flag of Denmark Denmark

E Flag of Estonia Estonia

F Flag of Finland Finland Flag of  France France

G Flag of Germany Germany Flag of Greece Greece

H Flag of Hungary Hungary

I Flag of Iceland Iceland Flag of Ireland Ireland Flag of Italy Italy

J Flag of Japan Japan

L Flag of Latvia Latvia Flag of Liechtenstein Liechtenstein Flag of Lithuania Lithuania Flag of Lithuania Luxembourg

M Flag of Malta Malta Flag of Monaco Monaco

N Flag of Netherlands Netherlands Flag of New Zealand New Zealand Flag of Norway Norway

P Flag of Portugal Portugal

S Flag of San Marino San Marino Flag of Singapore Singapore Flag of Slovakia Slovakia Flag of Slovenia Slovenia Flag of South Korea South Korea Flag of Spain Spain Flag of Sweden Sweden Flag of Switzerland Switzerland

T Taiwan Taiwan

U Flag of United Kingdom United Kingdom


Traveling to the United States for another reason?


* With respect to all references to “country” or “countries” on this page, it should be noted that the Taiwan Relations Act of 1979, Pub. L. No. 96-8, Section 4(b)(1), provides that “[w]henever the laws of the United States refer or relate to foreign countries, nations, states, governments, or similar entities, such terms shall include and such laws shall apply with respect to Taiwan.” 22 U.S.C. § 3303(b)(1). Accordingly, all references to “country” or “countries” in the Visa Waiver Program authorizing legislation, Section 217 of the Immigration and Nationality Act, 8 U.S.C. 1187, are read to include Taiwan. This is consistent with the United States’ one-China policy, under which the United States has maintained unofficial relations with Taiwan since 1979.