Appendix B: Notes on Foreign State of Chargeability

AFRICA:

South Sudan – The United States recognized South Sudan as a sovereign, independent state on July 9, 2011 following its secession from Sudan.

Western Sahara – Disputed Territory. See United Nations Mission for the Referendum on Western Sahara and Security Council Resolution 1720 of October 31, 2006. Morocco virtually annexed the northern two-thirds of Western Sahara (formerly Spanish Sahara) in 1976, and the rest of the territory in 1979, following Mauritania's withdrawal. A guerilla war with the Polisario Front contesting Rabat's sovereignty ended in a 1991 UN-brokered cease-fire; a UN-organized referendum on final status has been repeatedly postponed.

ASIA:

Timor-Leste – East Timor voted for independence from Indonesia in an August 30, 1999 referendum and was under the authority of the United Nations Transitional Administration in East Timor (UNTAET) until May 20, 2002. On May 20, 2002 East Timor became an independent nation; on that date, the United States Government established diplomatic relations with East Timor. As a result, a separate immigrant visa chargeability was established for East Timor. On July 10, 2007, the Foreign Names Committee of the U.S. Board on Geographic Names approved Timor-Leste as the short name, replacing East Timor.

EUROPE:

Curaçao – The Netherlands Antilles dissolved on October 10, 2010. Curaçao and Sint Maarten (the Dutch two-fifths of the island of Saint Martin) became autonomous territories of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius now fall under the direct administration of the Netherlands.

Kosovo – Kosovo declared its independence from Serbia on February 17, 2008. On February 18, 2008, the United States Government established diplomatic relations with Kosovo, recognizing it as an independent state. As a result, a separate immigrant visa chargeability was established for Kosovo.

Macau – Effective December 20, 1999 Macau was returned to Chinese administration and was designated as the Special Administration Region of Macau. Title II (United States-Macau Policy Act of 2000) of Pub. L. 106-570 (Assistance for International Malaria Control Act) enacted on December 27, 2000 provides that, notwithstanding any change in exercise of sovereignty over Macau, the laws of the United States shall continue to apply with respect to Macau in the same manner as before December 20, 1999.

Macedonia – The United States formally recognized Macedonia on February 8, 1994 as The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, the provisional designation under which it was admitted to the United Nations. In November 2004, the United States Government decided to officially refer to it by its constitutional name, the Republic of Macedonia.

Montenegro – In March 2002, the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia agreed to form a new state, replacing Yugoslavia with a looser state union called Serbia and Montenegro. The new union came into effect on February 4, 2003. On May 21, 2006, citizens of Montenegro voted in favor of independence, resulting in the dissolution of the state union of Serbia and Montenegro. On June 13, 2006, the United States formally recognized the Republic of Montenegro as a sovereign and independent state. As a result, separate immigrant visa chargeabilities were established for the republics of Montenegro and Serbia.

Netherlands Antilles – see Curação

Serbia – see Montenegro

Serbia and Montenegro – see Montenegro

Sint Maartin – see Curação